Weber Air Horn question

team-gpracing

So I have been running a K&N filter on my Weber 48IDA for a couple years now and I just made a new custom, ducted intake box to fit over the Weber filter assembly. When I installed it, I started thinking...

I know that the air horns on the Weber serve an important purpose that basically cleanly channels the air straight into the carb, but should I remove the horns when used in conjunction with the assembly and air box? The cover of the airbox/K&N assembly only sits about an inch above the top of the horns, and all of the air comes from the ducting, into the airbox and through the filter to the side of the horns. Again, I know they serve a purpose, but I also think that the flow of air would be much less restricted if I removed them. Especially at speed when the two 4"d hoses are really feeding the airbox.

I plan on trying it the next time I go to the dyno, but I'm not sure that will give me accurate results (fans only do so much). Any thoughts from the engineers (with degrees and otherwise) on the forum?

Not an engineer buti worked on something similar. I was told by engineers that the 1.25 inches I had was enough. Using the wheel dyno was difficult. I could measure an improvement with the airbox removed HOWEVER it ended up being attributable to a difference in intake air temperature, not restriction from the lid.

How did you determine it was air temp? Were you running with the hood on and a warm engine?

Anyone else care to give your opinion? It probably isn't much either way, but these are the types of problem solving improvements that I enjoy.

Initially it was a hood on hood off thing but we were able to negate all the difference with direction of additional air directly to the body air intake instead of just to the whole front of the car as you do for oil and water. Was a challenge.