Looking for information and history

Evargas163

Hello everybody:

I am new to the MG Midget / Sprite scene. I bought this race car few weeks ago in Hesperia California. Is there a way that I can find any information on this race car? The seller was not the original owner. He took the car in for a trade. There was no logs and other information given. The VIN on the right side of the chassis is HAN9L68152.

Thanks for your help,
Manny

Manny,

On the main roll hoop look for an imprinted set of Numbers/letters. If this was ever an SCCA car you should find them by the drivers door side of the hoop. The numbers will indicate the Region it was first registered in and with that....you coud contact the Region for information on the first owner.

Bill

Manny,

It appears the car was raced in Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) "G" Production class. (1100 cc engine) G Production has not been a recognized class for about 5-6 years, so it's likely the car has not been raced at least that long. With updates to safety equipment, including rollbar, and weight adjustment, this car can be raced in "H" Production.

The main hoop (rear) of the roll bar should have a small (1/8"-3/16") hold drilled in the tube in a readily visible place. (This is to check the wall thickness of the tubing) Somewhere near the hole there should be number stamped, 2-3 digits followed by 3-4 numbers. This is the log book number issued to the car. The first digits represent the SCCA Region that registered the car. The log book(s) would tell you where and when the car was raced.

SCCA offices in Topeka, Kansas might be able to tell you the owner when registered, as well as membership costs, General Competition Rules cost, etc.

Try contacting SCCA Regions near you for the information you seek. Should be available somewhere on the SCCA website. Someone on the coast will probably recognize the car.

Have fun with the car.

R. J. Sorensen

Thanks,