1275 Heads

James Wiley

Can anyone tell me if there is a "most desirable? stock 1275 cylinder head for limited prep? I've looked at Vizard's book, and it seems that the 12G940 (casting # on head) head he favors is a mostly non-imported, rare British part. I've seen several 12G1316's (with air rail ports) and one oddball "320". I've also heard that some foundries that produced the heads had slightly better specs than others. Also, I might have a source for a number of these 12G1316's if anyone's interested.

Thanks,

James Wiley
#72 HP Midget

I'm no expert,but I know that the castings with MOWOG #12G1316's had bigger ports and flow better.I think you need to take a bunch and have them flow tested for the best result's.Good Luck!
Joe Radosevich

There are two different versions of the 12G940 head casting. The earlier version was installed on pre-emissions Mini Coopers and '67-'68 Spridgets. It does not have air injection ports. The later version that is shown in Vizard's book is from later Minis and Metros and was not available in the US. The castings are visibly different externally, but I'm not sure if there are any real internal differences in the ports or combustion chambers. My understanding is that the earlier 12G940 has the same ports and combustion chambers as the 12G1316. Hap will probably chime in with more info.

You're suppose to look inside the exhaust valve and see if its big or small casting. I think head numbers do not matter. You want the ones where the exhaust mount is small.

Darryl Saylor":1hy5qpsn said:
You want the ones where the exhaust mount is small.

Or not at all...I wouldn't bother with a head if you see the boss impeading the flow path

ERVRCG":19x14dai said:
Darryl Saylor":19x14dai said:
You want the ones where the exhaust mount is small.

Or not at all...I wouldn't bother with a head if you see the boss impeading the flow path