prodracing.com

Unofficial SCCA Production Racing Forum
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:06 pm 

Why did Prod not adopt some sort of rear spoiler over the last 30 years? It would seem folks would have pushed for a simple blade type spoiler in the past especially with the addition of the air dams and such that were allowed by the rules.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:46 am 

Brett, I'm no Aero expert, but I believe the intent of the air dam is to keep air from going under the car. While it could be said that air instead goes "up and over" the hood (causing front downforce) the reality (IMHO) is that air is instead going around the sides of the car.

In my car's case, there's no way the air is hitting the air dam, going forward over the bumper and then over the hood.

Most folks who run successfully with NASA in cars like mine, they use front cannards, and splitters that are pushed way way forward of the overall bumper outline to gain front downforce. Those cars balance things out with a rear spoiler - and it's will known in that series how much faster all that Aero stuff is.

Yes you can make the case that an air dam (and splitter) make downforce by causing a low-pressure area under the front of the car.

Which leads me to my point - I don't think Prod should become an aero class. We got enough stuff to tinker with. I was surprised to see the EP winner running a (factory) rear spoiler - I thought there were rules against that (running any spoiler, OEM or not) some years ago but they must have relaxed them.

Finally, I think historically there hasn't been a real cry for aero, so we don't have it. I'm glad and hope it stays that way - I got enough stuff to figure out.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:54 am